Red Hat Software Collections Product Life Cycle


Red Hat Software Collections (RHSCL) is intended to give Red Hat Enterprise Linux customers the latest stable versions of dynamic languages and open source databases for users to create modern applications that can be confidently deployed into production. This fast-moving product will update frequently and will have a much shorter product life cycle and support term than Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

Software Collections is available for all active supported Red Hat Enterprise Linux versions.


Each release of Software Collections will be supported for two or three years. Developer Collections are supported for 2 years. Production Collections are supported for 3 years.

New versions will be available only during the Red Hat Enterprise Linux Production 1 Phase. Support for each new version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux will be added during the next Software Collections release that follows the latest release of Red Hat Enterprise Linux.

Releases and Support

Red Hat will support Software Collections for the Collection lifecycle, after which customers are encouraged either to upgrade to a later release or continue on as self-supported without official Red Hat Support. Software Collections will not have a corresponding Extended Update Support (EUS) nor an Extended Life Cycle Support (ELS) offering.

Software Collections Release Life Cycle

Support will be provided for the most current Software Collections point release. For example, if Software Collections version x.0 is released on June 30, 2012, and version x.1 is released on Dec 30, 2012, version x.1 will become the supported release and all bug fixes will be made to version x.1. Customers must upgrade to version x.1 to continue to receive support. Major versions will be supported concurrently during the support life cycle. For example, versions 1.x and 2.x will both be supported until the end of their respective life cycles.

At minimum, Critical and Important Security errata advisories (RHSAs) and Urgent Priority Bug Fix errata advisories (RHBAs) will be issued as they are available. Lower-impact security advisories may be made in the next point release. All errata are provided at Red Hat's discretion.

Scope of Coverage

The following table details the types of software maintenance performed during each phase of the life cycle:

Description Full Support
Years after GA 0-2 years or 0-3 years
Unlimited-incident technical support1 Yes
Asynchronous security errata2,4 Yes
Asynchronous bug-fix errata3,4 Yes
Software enhancements Yes
  1. Full details of support services are provided as part of the subscription agreement.
  2. See the Issue Severity Classification page for security severity.
  3. Red Hat addresses catastrophic issues with significant business impact for the customer through a hotfix as a temporary measure while the bug-fix errata is being created.
  4. All errata provided at Red Hat's discretion

Full Support

Start date: General availability (GA) date

End date: Three years from general availability date, or 2 years from the General Availability date, depending on the Collection.

Description: During the full support phase, both production and development support will be provided. During the full support phase, all available and qualified errata will be applied.

Life Cycle Dates

Release General Availability End of Full Support Supported Red Hat Enterprise Linux Version
Red Hat Software Collections v1.x September 12, 2013 September 30, 2016 6