How often to update?

Latest response

I am a newbie systems admin.

At present I am in a heated discussion with a application vendor about how often I can update my RHEL 5.9 production server.

I dont have a test instance of the server and application so testing is not possible.

My opinion is that once every month is a safe bet? The server is web facing, and mission critical so security is important. I have had cases where some of the vendor apps stopped working after an update even though they state that they fully support RHEL 5.9.

I dont want to wait months as it increases the bulk of updates that has to be checked should an issue occur. The vendor states every 18 months (?? Whoa!) but I must make sure that all security issues is dealt with. So I take responsibility either way....

What is best practice and what makes sense on a RHEL server?

Regards

Responses

Hi Barrie,

There are a lot of factors that go into determining a patch schedule. Things like regulatory and compliance issues, maintenance windows and downtime, . A similar discussion was recently started by one of our technical account managers at https://access.redhat.com/node/72915. It's a good read and has some great links to documents that can give you some guidance.

From experience (although I'm trying not to generalise too much here) companies who actually implement patching policies tend to grade critical Errata as requiring production patching within 30 days of release and all other patches to be applied within 90 days of release.

A) It depends whether you agree with Red Hat as to what constitutes "Critical".  I tend to as I don't want to spend the time investigating each Errata released and come up with my own grading system.  IT Security departments may request you do this, but I tend to throw requests like that back over the fence at them.  If they want to re-grade Errata - it can come out of their own manpower and budget (they'll soon give up)