Creating RPM from tar.gz

Latest response

I'm sure there's a way to do this, but I am not experienced with building RPMs.

I have a tarball which contains the files and installation script for an agent that we want to install on a subset of systems. I've been asked to create an RPM in order to expedite the installation of this agent.

Basically, the manual process is to explode the tarball and then run the installation script and then the tarball and directory created from exploding the tarball are to be removed.

Is there a way to take this process and create an RPM that handles these steps automatically?

Responses

Hello Dan,

The best way to create rpm from a source available in tar.gz is by writing a spec file and creating it using rpmbuild utility Red Hat ships. If you look from GSS perspective, there is very limited scope for rpmbuilding, but in upstream Fedora, very good documentation is available.

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/How_to_create_an_RPM_package

This can give you few guidelines on how to create rpm package using source by writing a spec file.

Hey Dan,

Even though the link Red Hat gave is very thorough, you might find it also easy to have a simple example on how to create an rpm, which I personally use this link for:

http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/ch-rpm-build.html

Holy crap! I feel like I need an advanced degree. Is there something a bit more entry-level out there? Something that just says to set up the spec file so that this section points to that tarball and put the commands to extract the tarball and execute the script here like so?

It's going to take about 6 months for me to read (and comprehend) all that stuff. Just not sure it's worth it given that I don't generally need to build RPMs and probably won't have to build another one for a couple years.