Get Started

This guide outlines the basic installation method for Red Hat Certificate System.

  1. Install a Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.4 server with an active network connection.
  2. Subscribe the system via Red Hat Subscription Manager and attach the subscription providing Red Hat Certificate System and Red Hat Directory Server:

    # subscription-manager register
    # subscription-manager list --available --all

    Make note of the pool ID providing Red Hat Certificate System. In addition, all certificate subsystems also require access to Red Hat Directory Server:

    # subscription-manager attach --pool=POOL_ID_CERT_SYSTEM
    # subscription-manager attach --pool=POOL_ID_DIR_SERVER

    For the machine where the certificate system resides, also make sure to attach the subscription for the Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server, and then enable the Red Hat Enterprise Linux Optional repository:

    # subscription-manager attach --pool=POOL_ID_Red_Hat_Enterprise_Linux_Server

    # subscription-manager repos --enable rhel-7-server-optional-rpms

  3. Install the directory server packages:

    # yum install redhat-ds

  4. Run the directory server installation script, selecting the defaults or customizing as desired:

    # /usr/sbin/

  5. Install the certificate system packages:

    # yum install redhat-pki

  6. Run the pkispawn script to create and configure the subsystem instances. For additional details, see the pkispawn man page.
  7. To access the agent interface of various Red Hat Certificate System subsystems, use a properly configured local or remote Mozilla Firefox web browser. See Red Hat Certificate System 9 Release Notes for more details.