IBM AIX's SMIT or SuSE's YaST like tool for RHEL systems

Latest response

Hello all,

Personally, I'm TOTALLY command-line type of person BUT I think that some interactive TUI (and maybe some GUI frontend for it) is needed on RHEL systems. I'm talking about tools like the one mentioned on the Title. Tools that take the most "popular" every day SysAdmin tasks and make them easier to install, configure and maintain.

Daniel Mor
RHCE/RHCT/RHCI/MCSA/MCDST/MCTS/MCP/A+ Certified

Responses

I agree, the smitty system in AIX is very nice to have. It also give you the command line equivalent.

Have you looked into webmin/usermin. Not Red Hat supported but still very handy to use.

Thanks for your comment.

Yep, of course I'm familiar with webmin/etc but I think AIX's SMIT is something else and really better.

I'm a certified Linux instructor and all of my students with some UNIX background asks me about tools like SMIT regarding the RHEL world.

The option for showing the complete command (or script) after all the menus and options you choose is really a wonderful learning method.

Best regards,

+Daniel.

I work in AIX machines too and smit (smitty) is nice addition to day-to-day admin used admin tools.

Would love to see something like that in RHEL 7..

I'm also familar with smitty on AIX and I dont like it.

I prefer the command line. When I started learning AIX I went in and found the proper commands so I wouldn't have to use smitty.

An example is having to reset the same local account on multiple systems. I would use cygwin and cluster-ssh to open up multiple sessions. Using smitty for this task would be a pain. just a simple command is all I need.

dont forget about system-config-users

Its no smitty but it might help some of you out.

We are a larger user of AIX and our admins transitioning into the Linux admin side would benefit greatly from something like SMIT as well.

We also need something like SMIT on RHEL.