Red Hat Satellite 6 Getting Started Video Series has begun

Latest response

Hi folks,

My name is Dan Macpherson and I'm a Senior Technical Writer at Red Hat. A while back I was in discussions with some people on the Satellite forums and asked how people were using their Satellite. Based on these discussions, I started developing an idea to make some videos that looked at Satellite 6's features. What I wanted to do was create a set of successive videos, each building upon the previous one, that shows how to get started with using Satellite 6.

I'm excited to report that the first four videos in this series are now live on the Customer Portal:

This is only just the beginning. I have plans to make further videos that look at more features such as system provisioning and Puppet configuration.

Also, I want to hear from you! If anyone has any suggestions for improvements or suggestions for future video topics, please let me know in this thread. I'm very keen to produce more videos about topics that require more info.

Thanks and I hope you enjoy the videos!

Responses

These look cool, Dan. Thanks for posting them!

Thanks, will give these a go and give feedback as we've been struggling at getting our Sat6 implementation going for a while now.

Any feedback would be awesome. Keep in mind also there are still more videos on the way. So more information on advanced topics are on the way. In the meantime, if there's anything you'd like more info on, please let me know and I'll see what I can do to help.

Great to hear an Aussie in a Red Hat video! (even if it is a QLDer)

Thanks for the post.

(even if it is a QLDer)

My reaction

Dan,

I am really keen to hear the explanation for this (from the Satellite 6.0 User Guide)

10.4. Registration
⁠10.4.1. Registering a Host