How do I ensure my Red Hat Enterprise Linux System handles Chile's extended Daylight Saving Time in 2017?

Solution Verified - Updated -


  • The Chilean government has made an official announcement about time zone change starting on May 13, 2017.
  • On May 13, 2017, at 24:00 hrs, Continental Chile, except Magellan region and Chilean Antarctic will be at UTC-4 timezone.
  • Western insular Chile Easter Island and Isla Salas y Gómez, at 22:00 local time, will be passed to UTC-6 time zone.


Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server 7
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server 6
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server 5 with Extended Lifecycle Support

Subscriber exclusive content

A Red Hat subscription provides unlimited access to our knowledgebase of over 48,000 articles and solutions.

Current Customers and Partners

Log in for full access

Log In