Kernel panic - not syncing: Watchdog detected hard LOCKUP on cpu x

Latest response

Hello

I have 5 HP-DL360e-Gen8 Server running with RHEL 6.5 (command line) and two of them had today this crash.
Server was starting itself automaticaly. Both were with a uptime 6 days and few hours.
I am a newbie with RHEL...I was looking for that Error,but without success.
In one article I read that this kernel panic should be solved on the actual kernel. Strange.
As attachment you can find the kdump.log , the other logs are not really clear for me.
I hope somebody could help me to solve it. I can provide with logs.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

Responses

It seems your not using the latest kernel: kernel-2.6.32-431.17.1.el6.x86_64
have you tried that one?

in short time new kernel...I will need to update the system every week...sounds like windows os!
but thanks for information!
I updated it already...just need to wait for crash :-(

For a kdump analysis I would recommend to open a Red Hat support case

you mean support-ticket ?

that's correct Felix. You can open one here: https://access.redhat.com/support/cases/new

thx!

Opening a case is the best recourse with this.

Typically Red Hat Support would ask for a sosreport, but that will be impossible until the system doesn't halt from kernel panics.

Just for your future reference, check out this Red Hat article/guide on unexpected halts/restarts

Kind Regards,
Remmele

thank you too, I know already that reference...and I changed the crashsize from auto to 768M because of 16GB Ram...I updated the system already,now wait to see if it works.

Great link Remmele!

Felix - was the issue due to a bad mother board? (I just responded to your other post about replacing a system board and having new MAC addresses ;-)

Also - I am curious why you changed the crashkernel value. I have not found a very good explanation on how to decide the value (and therefore I just set it to auto and hope for the best).