Looking for a function of AIX in RHEL - user limits and ldap

Latest response

Bear with me.  I'm a Red Hat Engineer, not an AIX person.  My current environment is a mix of AIX and RHEL (about 500 AIX and 200 RHEL).  I'm in the process of integrating our RHEL environment into our AD for authentication and authorization.  I've got most everything figured out.  Except for this.

Through some form of wizardry the AIX environment reads LDAP attributes for nofile, nproc and other ulimit settings and sets them for the user.  (Documented here http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/aix/library/au-aixldap/

As far as I've ever seen, Linux users' limits are set via the /etc/security/limits.conf or /etc/security/limits.d/*.conf files.   I have never seen another way (short of setting it manually via profiles)

Anyone else ever seen this implemented before?  Is there a linux version of what the AIX environment does here?

Thanks in advance... long-time user, first time poster...

Will

Responses

Does Active Directory have the schema to hold any ulimit directives at all? If not, you will need to modify to schema to actually contain these values. The issue of Linux picking them up could be solved with some scripting, or ideally with a configuration management tool.

Well in this case, yes.. the attributes are storied in the DN for the user(s).  So the data is there. I'm just not sure how to make the OS respect it.

short of writing code to query the LDAP infrastructure at login and set it.

...or query once and have limits.d/ synced. Tools like Satellite and Puppet can maintain files across machines for you.

I already use Satellite extensively for configuration management and it's easy enough for me to manage limits.conf (or limits.d/*.conf)  with Satellite..  The issue here is the AIX mentality of managing things the IBM way vs the RHEL way.

Just making sure that  I'm not overlooking anything. 

I suppose equivalence would be writing a PAM Module.

Probably a couple options: