Manage the rhevh without rhevm

Latest response

I am a software developer of a system management software and plan to support the rhevh as the hypervisor of virtual machine, but I am a little worry about the performance of rhevm for a large cluster that with more than 1000 hypervisors and 10,000 of virtual machines. Then I am investigating that whether it's possible to control the rhevh through the libvirt or vdsm interface of rhevh without the rhevm.

I tried use the virsh to connect to the rhevh, but failed with following error message:
error: packet 1181314145 bytes received from server too large, want 262144
error: failed to connect to the hypervisor

And I'll try to use the xmlrpc interface of vdsm to control the hypervisor.

Could some experienced guys help me out that whether it's possible to use the libvirt or vdsm to manage the rhevh?

Responses

1. Currently RHEV-M officially supports clusters up to 200 hosts in size. The cap can be lifted using rhevm-config, but you should keep in mind that 200 is the number of hosts that were tested. Depending on your infrastructure, more will or will not work, it's all a matter of management traffic and how fast it gets processed. The typical solution is to have RHEV-M manage several 200 host clusters, or to run a separate RHEV-M for every set of clusters, to distribute the load

2. Why would you want to control the hypervisors directly? In RHEV you should understand that RHEV-M is what keeps track of VMs and their configs, the hosts are only executing orders delivered from RHEV-M.

I think what you would need for a very large setup is a cluster of RHEV-Ms (there's a technical ref article for this) or to simply split up the management between several instances of RHEV-M, which you can manage with a cloud-like system

Thanks very much for your reply.

Your suggestion is reasonable that to create a rhev-m cluster and each rhev-m handle 200 hosts.

And several questions to you: