MATE Desktop on RHEL 7 beta

Latest response

I was surprised to see there wasn't yet a MATE desktop thread for RHEL 7 beta.

Our users so far are pretty bummed to not see it as part of the everything-7 channel.

Is Redhat working on a workstation DE that users will accept or are we stuck with trying to come up with something that works for users but is unsupported by RedHat (such as including MATE on our own)?

Responses

Hey Kodiak! Please excuse my ignorance as I have very little knowledge about this topic (which will be painfully obvious).

What is MATE? From what I gathered, it seems to be a Gnome 2 off-shoot? Similar to compiz?

I thought a majority of those types of implementations were part of the EPEL, or 3rd-party REPOs - not any of the standard Red Hat Channels (I could be wrong on that).
I believe RHEL 7 is based on Gnome 3 (but defaults to Gnome Classic). Does MATE have a Gnome 3 compatible install?

Hi James! No worries at all.

Here's the project page for MATE: http://mate-desktop.org/

Here's the Fedora page for MATE:
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/MATE-Desktop

It's something of a fork of the last "normal" version of Gnome that users expect, and it started to be integrated into Fedora in 17, and with RHEL 7 being factored against Fedora 19, we were all hoping and expecting to see it as one of the main install options if not the default.

I have on my list of things to do, to examine all our Puppet desktop policy configs and see what will be transferable to MATE for RHEL 7.

Hi Kodiak,

We're offering Gnome 3 (with Gnome Classic as the default) and KDE 4.10. With so many desktop options of interest in the community (isn't that a great thing?), it's hard for us to offer them all and look to the community to create EPELs or 3rd party repos. Will you be be doing this to help serve the MATE fans?

Hello Ron,