Strange permisson behavior

Latest response

Hi - thought I had control over this but...

Description: I have a webmaster (user: isk, group: afu).

The web-root is in: /webb_sidor/afudoc/DownL

Owner of web-root and recursive files: apache: afu

Permissions: 3770 for dirs, 1770 for files.

SELinux temporarily in permessive state.

Operating System: Red Hat Enterprise Linux
CPE OS Name: cpe:/o:redhat:enterprise_linux:7.9:GA:server
Kernel: Linux 3.10.0-1160.31.1.el7.x86_64
Architecture: x86-64

Problem: I want the user (isk), as a member of afu, define the users home directory in the web-root file system above so the user within logins is accessing the web-root (and not the usual /home/isk). But this gives permission denied. Tried a lot of different configurations...

Logs: Nothing! In debug mode the logs only says that login (SSH and SFTP) works. I'm logging AUTH and AUTHPRIV.

So - what am I missing? Note tha the owner is apache for all files and afu is the group (where isk is a momber of). No one has root-privs.

PS Defining isk:s home-dir as /home/isk is OK. However doing cd /webb_sidor/afudoc/DownL gives the same result, permission denied.

Thank's for any tip ... (I'm not a Linux-expert...).

Responses

The user isk is not allowed for the directory /webb_sidor/afudoc/isk where owner/group: isk:isk

can you run ls -ld /webb_sidor/afudoc/isk and see if everything is right

Thank you

ls -ld gives me info about dir - and by doing it from my root account it tells me what I already know.

By doing it from the "isk" user account it's the same - Permission denied.

First

ls -al / | grep home

You should find 755 permissions there (rwxr-xr-x) and it is the 'global' r-x rights that are needed (you need execute permission to read rights and directory entries below), so:

sudo chmod o+rx /webb_sidor

should allow any user to see the layer below that includes afudoc. After you make the above rights change, "isk" should be able to

cd /webb_sidor

successfully. then