Consolidation of apps onto one server with multiple nics

Latest response

Hello,
I am looking for information on best practice/approach. Recently we have consolidated 9 different applications that were running on their own respective workstations/servers. Now all the applications are hosted on one main RHEL server with 6 active network interfaces.

So having said all of that, My question is regarding RedHat server tweek or tuning ... Is there a way to tune Redhat to know that all these apps are hosted and not have to send the information down the wire and back again through another interface ? I am by no means a programmer and if this falls in the realm of rehashing application(s) so be it, but then again if I am able to define something on the server maybe in NetworkManager or kernel ... I am willing to learn and try.
Thanks.

Responses

Hello Bob Appelzoller,

The answer to your question may not be as easy as this forum may immediately offer through at minimum one mere response. I wish you and your server every success and hopefully, none of the issues I mention below will haunt you.

Here are some initial thoughts though...