new in RHEL

Latest response

Hello,
I'm new to using the Redhat distribution. This one is preinstalled with a Dell R740 server. I managed to make the updates. But I'm encountering a couple of quirks.

• I can't open a terminal under gnome via my user
  • dnf install inxi
    Failed to set locale, defaulting to C.UTF-8
    Errors during downloading metadata for repository 'base_install-Appstream'.
  • Curl error (37) Couldn't read a file:// ...

Other questions :
Is there a forum in french ?
Is there a tutorial for the first installation?
Is there a tutorial to install an Oracle server ?

I know that's a lot of questions at once.
Thank you for your help

Responses

Hi Mickael,

Which release are you running?

About the issues:

• please provide error messages or more details.
  • how did you run dnf?
    • please provide more error messages (the set locale message you can ignore, as a Dutch user I get the same)
  • please provide the complete error message (obsure file names and/or hostnames if needed)

reply to, Other questions:

• no this is the only forum provided by Red Hat on the Customer Portal. The different language forums have been removed due to low numbers of members.
    • I do not know if there is a French Linux User Group outside of this Forum.
    • If you have a question that is hard for you to write in English, we can try to find a French speaking member to help you out.
  • Get started for RHEL is a short how-to.
  • What do you mean? Oracle Linux or Oracle databases on RHEL? not on this forum, you need to go to the Oracle website

Regards,

Jan Gerrit Kootstra

Thanks for your help I am a fedora user.

I don't know if I recorded the right information for the subscription. But I managed to update the distribution. I've seen the graphana update???

Here's some info

uname -a Linux localhost.localdomain 4.18.0-193.6.3.el8_2.x86_64 #1 SMP Mon Jun 1 20:24:55 UTC 2020 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux