Package manager

Latest response

Hi don't know if i put in the correct product name. I have REHL(developer subscription) on an external HD and Fedora on my main Hard Drive. This question is related to booth because they are the same family. The disros i have used before are Opensuse, Arch, Manjaro,CentOS and Kubuntu. They had only one package manager Opensuse uses ZYpp(Think SLES uses another not sure) Manjaro and Arch uses Pacman and Kubuntu uses APT like all Debian based distros but REHL, CentOS and Fedora uses two Yum and DNF why? I can booth type for example sudo yum install gparted or sudo dnf install gparted which one to use YUM or DNF. Sorry mabye stupid question but i am quite new to linux in general yes i used Linux in the early 2000s but i was young than and than you had like mostly 3 distros Red Hat, Suse and Mandrake before Ubuntu. Red Hat was my very first disro than Suse.

Responses

Hi Daniel, I'm going to break this down hopefully into categories.

==Your questions:

• (Daniel Ostrowski) - I have REHL(developer subscription) on an external HD and Fedora on my main Hard Drive. This question is related to both because they are the same family. Possible Answer: From your post above, it seems you might be well served by using virtualization to host all your virtual systems. My next post will have some virtualization options.

• (Daniel Ostrowski) -The disros i have used before are Opensuse, Arch, Manjaro,CentOS and Kubuntu. Answer: This is the Red Hat Discussion Forum, we generally focus our discussion against Red Hat itself. The other distros are just fine, but this forum happens to center around Red Hat because it's part of access.redhat.com. It's good to know you have some background in other distributions. Linux admins have to support various distributions on occasion