extending root file system (redhat 6) ext4

Latest response

Hi Support,
I am a newbie to redhat
If I were to extend root volume to extend root file system size, Will it cause issues ? Do we need to have a backup just in case?
Can we do it on the fly without causing any issues to data on that root FS

Thanks
Lak

Responses

Hi Lakshmi,

Will it cause issues ? In more than 90 % of all cases not. But if you want to be on the safe(r) side - you know ...
Do we need a backup ? It is more than recommended to always have a current system backup image available.
Can we do it on the fly ? Yes you can, but I recommend to do it from a live medium when the system is offline.
A good old system admin rule still is valid : Never work on disks and partitions from within a running system ! :)

Regards,
Christian

Lakshmi,

I can't find the discussion for this, and a long while ago I documented my own negative experience with this.

I put in a case with Red Hat before extending "/" ext4 LVM on RHEL 6.whateverwascurrentatthetime (meaning I was using whatever minor release of RHEL was currernt, I think it was rhel 6.8 or 6.9).

I did thorough research, I went through the the entire process properly based on the feedback from the case with Red Hat. I additionally put all my steps (somewhere) in the Red Hat discussion area.

To say there is "risk involved" with this is a dire understatement. In my specific case it went poorly even though I spent significant time researching the proper steps between 1) documentation 2) a case with Red Hat and 3) posting my proposed procedure here in the discussion forum.

So all of that I've written above leads to this. Absolutely positively have a backup and ensure you are ready to rebuild the system completely and I was ready with a carefully thought out kickstart, and all necessary data backed up on the system I attempted to extend "/" (ext4, rhel6.x).