while trying to dualboot redhat7.6.0 and windows

Latest response

I have used some linux distros like ubuntu debian mint usually and usually they would have grub loaded and option to boot with windows that was not the case here saw some guides but maybe i am making a stupid mistake somewhere can i get some guidance from here this is my first time using fedora

Responses

Hi Manan,

Your title of this thread you started says you're interested in dual booting RHEL 7.6 and Windows (most likely 10).

However I get the idea from the body of your post that you might be interested in a guide to mix Fedora workstation version 29 and perhaps dual booting with Fedora 29 and perhaps Windows 10? (this link is for fedora 27, but it might work) ?

Do you wish to use Red Hat 7.6 and some form of Windows? (from your title of this thread) .... or ... Do you wish to use Fedora and dual boot with some form of Windows? (from the body of your paragraph)

Let us know, someone ought to help,

Regards

RJ

Hi Manan,

Although you say "my first time using fedora", I assume that you've installed RHEL 7.6 and, I also assume that you installed it on a machine with EFI based BIOS, on which you have installed Windows 10 as well. Please check with sudo vi /etc/default/grub that GRUB_TIMEOUT= is set to a higher value than 0 and if it's not, then change to let's say 5. To do it press "i", make the change, press "Esc" and then ":wq" (i switches to insert mode, Esc switches back and :wq saves the change you've made and closes the file).