Unable to update glibc in RedHat 5.1

Latest response

Hello,

I'm unable to get any update or install going in my server.
I have opened a previous discussion where I was asked if I have an active subscription which I do.

Again, This is what I have

ls /etc/yum.repos.d/
rhel-debuginfo.repo

when I run yum update glibc, the following output is displayed :

Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Update Process
Setting up repositories
No Repositories Available to Set Up
Reading repository metadata in from local files Could not find update match for glibc No Packages marked for Update/Obsoletion

I don't know if I'm doing this right but even if I try to install epel-release it doesn't give me any packages available..

Thank you

Responses

Hi,

This part is interesting: Loading "installonlyn" plugin. That doesn't look familiar, and the list of plugins certainly looks incomplete.

What plugins do you have in /usr/lib/yum-plugins/? You should have /usr/lib/yum-plugins/rhnplugin.py, and it must be enabled in /etc/yum/pluginconf.d/rhnplugin.conf. Alternatively, you could use Subscription Manager instead of RHN. It has another plugin and configuration file.

Radek

Hi Kwala,

Is your server registered to Red Hat Network or a Red Hat (Network) Satellite?
In other words, did you run rhn_register on this server?

If not: What may be the cause.

Be aware patching glibc and nscd for the GHOST vulnerabilty will introduction a RHEL 5.11 patch.

Kind regards,

Jan Gerrit

The output of yum would be different if the system just weren't registered. Specifically:

yum update

Loaded plugins: rhnplugin
This system is not registered with RHN Classic or RHN Satellite.
You can use rhn_register to register.
RHN Satellite or RHN Classic support will be disabled.
No Packages marked for Update

Hello,

i tried getting the rhnplugin from a similar server but i got this error when retrying the update: