How can I determine which version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux - Openstack Platform (RHEL-OSP) I am using?

Updated -

Using the nova-common package as an example, we can use the following command to find the version and release of the package :

# rpm -qi openstack-nova-common
Name        : openstack-nova-common
Version     : 2014.1.3
Release     : 9.el7ost
Architecture: noarch
Install Date: Tue 09 Dec 2014 18:27:50 EST
Group       : Applications/System
Size        : 166740
License     : ASL 2.0
Signature   : RSA/SHA256, Fri 21 Nov 2014 02:04:12 EST, Key ID 199e2f91fd431d51
Source RPM  : openstack-nova-2014.1.3-9.el7ost.src.rpm
Build Date  : Thu 20 Nov 2014 09:35:46 EST
Build Host  :
Relocations : (not relocatable)
Packager    : Red Hat, Inc. <>
Vendor      : Red Hat, Inc.
URL         :
Summary     : Components common to all OpenStack Nova services
Description :
OpenStack Compute (codename Nova) is open source software designed to
provision and manage large networks of virtual machines, creating a
redundant and scalable cloud computing platform. It gives you the
software, control panels, and APIs required to orchestrate a cloud,
including running instances, managing networks, and controlling access
through users and projects. OpenStack Compute strives to be both
hardware and hypervisor agnostic, currently supporting a variety of
standard hardware configurations and seven major hypervisors.

This package contains scripts, config and dependencies shared
between all the OpenStack nova services.

From the output above we can determine that this Nova package is part of the 2014.1 major release (also known as Icehouse), bugfix update 3 and downstream release 9.

You can find upstream OpenStack release details here.

You can find how the upstream releases relate to RHEL OSP releases here.

In short, 2013.2 is RHEL OSP 4, 2014.1 is RHEL OSP 5 , 2014.2 is RHEL OSP 6 and 2015.1 is RHEL OSP 7 . At the time of writing 2015.2 is currently under development upstream and will form RHEL OSP 8.

Below is a list of errata pages for each RHEL OSP release that you can also use to map a given package to a release :


I need to know whether I have OSP9 or OSP10 on a given environment, this article doesn't really help