Is the Brazil's Daylight Saving Time Updated to 2014/2015?

Solution Verified - Updated -

Issue

  • Is the Brazil Daylight Saving Time Updated to 2014/2015?
  • How can I check if the Brazil Daylight Saving Time is correct?
  • Looking the current Timezone Rules from Brazil, seems that it is not correct accordingly the DST Law
# grep -i zone /etc/sysconfig/clock 
ZONE="America/Sao Paulo"

# zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2014
/etc/localtime  Sun Oct 19 02:59:59 2014 UTC = Sat Oct 18 23:59:59 2014 BRT isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800
/etc/localtime  Sun Oct 19 03:00:00 2014 UTC = Sun Oct 19 01:00:00 2014 BRST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200

# zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2015
/etc/localtime  Sun Feb 22 01:59:59 2015 UTC = Sat Feb 21 23:59:59 2015 BRST isdst=1 gmtoff=-7200
/etc/localtime  Sun Feb 22 02:00:00 2015 UTC = Sat Feb 21 23:00:00 2015 BRT isdst=0 gmtoff=-10800

Environment

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7
  • tzdata Package

Subscriber exclusive content

A Red Hat subscription provides unlimited access to our knowledgebase of over 48,000 articles and solutions.

Current Customers and Partners

Log in for full access

Log In