Meet Dave Sullivan, our Red Hatter of the week!

Posted on

This week's featured Red Hatter is Dave Sullivan, TAM.

In his own words:

"I am a native Virginian guided to Michigan 5 years ago by my younger and very talented wife. 21 months ago, I became a very happy father when my wonderful daughter, Jacqueline was born.

Stepping back, I graduated with a BS in Mechanical Engineering from the Virginia Military Institute in December 1997. I then worked for several years in 3D Modelling and Simulation on big SGI hardware at Night Vision Labs. In this experience, I became interested in software development and decided to earn a Masters in Computer Science. I was also interested in Information Security so my Masters was Infosec based and I graduated with a MS in 2002. I moved from working in 3D Modelling and Simulation to developing C/C++ for a short stint and then I caught on with the JAVA Revolution. I then moved from NVL and did software development for the next 7 seven years coding JAVA (all tiers), scripting, writing sql, and designing Oracle database schema for the Intelligence Community. As I learned the business domain I moved into a Team Lead role leading a team of Java Developers and Database Engineers.

In 2007 I took on a new adventure in a role as a consultant for Red Hat. For a little over four years I did Enterprise Infrastructure consulting on all products within Red Hat's Domain, including RHEL, HA Clustering and GFS, Virtualization (Xen, KVM, RHEV), Directory Server, Certificate Server, Satellite Server and Performance Tuning.