Yum update error

Latest response

Hi,

I'm not able to update with YUM. What should i do?

yum update

Loaded plugins: langpacks, product-id, search-disabled-repos, subscription-manager
file:///cdrom/Server/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] curl#37 - "Couldn't open file /cdrom/Server/repodata/repomd.xml"
Trying other mirror.
No packages marked for update

Responses

It appears you have a repo in /etc/yum.repos.d which is looking for software on a mounted DVD. Remove the repo from /etc/yum.repos.d then try again.

I removed dvd.repo. But then it gave me this message.

Loaded plugins: langpacks, product-id, search-disabled-repos, subscription- : manager certificate verify failed

I solved the problem with in /etc/rhsm/rhsm.conf But now when i try to run "yum update" command, it just says "No packages marked for update" .

Is this normal? I'm sorry, i am quite new in this operating system.

I would re-enable certificate validation in /etc/rhsm/rhsm.conf. Which RHEL release are you using? Is your RHEL instance registered with RHSM or Satellite?

I'm using rhel 7 and yes i have already registered to the system. in /etc/rhsm/rhsm.conf, i changed "insecure=0 " to "insecure=1" . Do i have to set to 0 again?

Set to insecure=0. What are your settings for the fields below in /etc/rhsm/rhsm.conf?

hostname=
prefix=
baseurl=
repo_ca_cert = 
hostname = subscription.rhsm.redhat.com$
prefix = /subscription$
baseurl= https://cdn.redhat.com$
ca_cert_dir = /etc/rhsm/ca/$
repo_ca_cert = %(ca_cert_dir)sredhat-uep.pem$

Looks ok, except those $ characters at the end of each line.

Are there other repos defined in /etc/yum.repos.d? Have a look at Example 8.25. A sample /etc/yum.repos.d/redhat.repo file

I'm so sorry for the late reply. I looked there but i didn't see anything to solve the problem.

There are nly these repos defines in /etc/yum.repos.d : epel.repo epel-testing.repo google-chrome.repo redhat.repo