KB back light setting change: dir location and how to edit locked files?

Latest response

Hello,

Can anyone help me change the KB backlit settings.
The KB light goes out after like 3 seconds.
I want to disable the feature, or set timeout to max setting.

I thought it would be in the /sys directory some where but I am a noob and also when I thought I found the right location I could not edit the files.
I am familiar with chown,chgrp,chmod, but on reboto, even those ownership and group setting was reverted back to root.

So, I am asking for :

How do I figure out keyboard settings, with what tool/ command? ( So I might not ask again)
What directory are the KB back light settings?
How do I figure out on my own next time where this directory would be for specific hardware settings?
How do I edit files in directories such as /sys that appear to have locked files?

Thank You,

Lowry

Responses

Uhm... That's not an easy question. It really depends on the hardware you're using and the kind of driver used for your keyboard led "device".
A couple of questions:

• What machine are you using and what distribution are you running exactly?
  • Have you tried with different Operating Systems? What was the behavior on those?

Hi Lowry,

We are going to need a bit more information to be helpful.

Which make and model of keyboard backlight are you trying to work with?

When you say "keyboard settings" are you still just referring to the backlight or do you need some guidance on configuring a different keyboard layout (French, German, etc)?

/sys is provided by the sysfs subsystem. It exports a number of kernel tunables to the filesystem, only some of which are editable (they will have owner rw in ls -l).

Usually, we use a command to send an on or off switch to these files (although some accept different data, like buffer sizes).

If I were to manipulate the screen backlight on my laptop, I would use:

# echo [0|1] > /sys/class/backlight/intel_backlight/bl_power