What are the supported character encodings in Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4?

Updated -


Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4, by default, supports UTF-8 encoding for all supported languages. Issues associated to UTF-8 encoding will be supported while issues which occur in other encodings, that include, but are not explicit to, eucJP, eucKR, GB2312, GB18030, Big5 and ISO8859-* are not supported.


Subscriber exclusive content

A Red Hat subscription provides unlimited access to our knowledgebase, tools, and much more.

Current Customers and Partners

Log in for full access

Log In

New to Red Hat?

Learn more about Red Hat subscriptions

Using a Red Hat product through a public cloud?

How to access this content