Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4

4.9 Release Notes

Release Notes for all Architectures


Legal Notice

Copyright © 2011 Red Hat.
This document is licensed by Red Hat under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. If you distribute this document, or a modified version of it, you must provide attribution to Red Hat, Inc. and provide a link to the original. If the document is modified, all Red Hat trademarks must be removed.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, JBoss, MetaMatrix, Fedora, the Infinity Logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat Software Collections is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project.
The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack Logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


Release Notes for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4.9

1. Introduction

Red Hat Enterprise Linux minor releases are an aggregation of individual enhancement, security and bug fix errata. The Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4.9 Release Notes documents the major changes made to the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 operating system and its accompanying applications for this minor release.
Detailed information on the changes that each updated package provides is available in the Errata Documentation for each package.
Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 Lifecycle
Red Hat is releasing the 9th minor release update for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4. This update transitions Red Hat Enterprise Linux to the Production III life cycle phase. This update is being released as an online only update on Red Hat Network. No new media kits are being issued. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 is now closed for new feature requests and new hardware enablement. Red Hat will continue to deliver security and bug fixes for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4 until the End-of-Life scheduled for February 29, 2012. Customers requiring longer life cycle support should contact Red Hat or its support partners for Extended Life Cycle phase support programs.