How to exclude some EJBs to be marked as clustered when using wildcard via jboss-ejb3.xml ?

Solution Unverified - Updated -


  • While deploying an EJB Based application which contains some @Singleton beans it is noticed that it shows the following error message:
JBAS014549: @Clustered annotation is currently not supported for singleton EJB
  • This is because the "$EJB_JAR/META-INF/jboss-ejb3.xml" file usages the widlcard character * for declaring the clustered beans as following:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?> 
    <jboss:ejb-jar xmlns:jboss="" 
      xmlns="" xmlns:xsi="" 
      xmlns:c="urn:clustering:1.0" xmlns:s="urn:security:1.1" 
      version="3.1" impl-version="2.0"> 
  • Is there a way to specify that certain beans can be excluded to be deployed as Clustered or is there any exclude tag available in the "jboss-ejb3.xml" which can be usd to tell the JBoss EJB container to deploy rest of the Beans as clustered except certain Beans.


  • Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform (EAP)
    • 6.2.0

Subscriber exclusive content

A Red Hat subscription provides unlimited access to our knowledgebase of over 48,000 articles and solutions.

Current Customers and Partners

Log in for full access

Log In