3.3. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Standalone Server

Overview

Table 3.245. Overview

Description: Standalone AS7 server
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Note

The server can be started, restarted, or stopped via the Start, Restart, and Shutdown operations. The Start and Restart operations start the server by executing the server start script, typically standalone.sh on UNIX or standalone.bat on Windows. The following connection settings can be used to configure the start script execution: * Start Script - the absolute path of the start script (e.g. "/opt/jboss-as-7.1.1.Final/bin/standalone.sh") * Start Script Prefix - a prefix command line to be prepended to the start script command line (e.g. "nohup sudo -u jboss -g jboss") * Start Script Arguments - arguments to be passed to the start script (e.g. "--server-config=standalone-full-ha.xml") * Start Script Environment - environment variables to be set in the start script's environment (e.g. "JAVA_HOME=/usr/java/jdk1.6.0_30") These settings are automatically initialized by the JBossAS7 plugin discovery code to match the currently running server process' command line and environment. The settings are not used by the Stop operation, since it stops the server via the management interface, not via a script. For more detailed descriptions of the settings, see the Connection Settings section below.

Child Resource Types

Autodiscovery Process Scans

Table 3.246. Metrics

Name Query
StandaloneAS process|basename|match=^java.*,arg|org.jboss.as.standalone|match=.*

Connection Properties

Table 3.247. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Start Script Path The path to the script that the Start and Restart operations should use to start the server. If the path is not absolute, it is resolved relative to the server home directory (e.g. "bin/standalone.sh", "bin/domain.sh"). no startScript
Start Script Prefix A prefix command line that should be prepended to the start script command line by the Start and Restart operations; the prefix command must be an absolute path (e.g. "/usr/bin/sudo"). This property is most commonly used to run the AS7 process as a different user than the RHQ Agent (e.g. "sudo -u jboss -g jboss" could be used to run AS7 as user "jboss" and group "jboss". It is also possible to chain prefix commands (e.g. "nohup sudo -u jboss" could be used to make AS7 ignore HUP signals and to run as user "jboss"). no startScriptPrefix
Start Script Environment Variables The variables that the Start and Restart operations will add to the environment of the server start script. Each name=value pair should be on a new line. Variable values should *not* be enclosed in quotes (e.g. JAVA_OPTS=-Xms512M -Xmx1024M). On UNIX systems, the typical minimum set of environment variables is: PATH=/usr/bin:/bin . And on Windows the typical minimum set is: PATH=C:\Windows\System32;C:\Windows , OS=Windows_NT , SYSTEMROOT=C:\Windows . In addition, it is good practice to set JAVA_HOME to the absolute path of the install directory of the JRE or JDK you wish to use to run the AS7 instance. However, if JAVA_HOME is not specified, the start script will attempt to find java in the PATH. There is currently a 2000 character limit for this value. no startScriptEnv
Start Script Arguments The arguments that the Start and Restart operations will pass to the server start script. Each argument should be on a new line - for example: --server-config=standalone-ha-full.xml. As an exception, the value of a space-delimited option can optionally be on the same line as the option - for example: -c standalone-ha-full.xml. There is currently a 2000 character limit for this value. no startScriptArgs
Log Event Sources yes logEventSources
Hostname yes hostname
Port yes port
User Management user for a secured AS no user
Password Password for the management user no password
Home Directory Root directory of the server installation no homeDir
Base Directory Base directory for server content no baseDir
Configuration Directory Base configuration directory no configDir
Log Directory the directory where log files will be written for this server no logDir
Deployment directory Deploy directory for standalone servers no deployDir
Product Type Server product type (e.g. AS or EAP) no productType

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Metrics

Table 3.248. Metrics

Name Type Description Internal Name
Number of management requests measurement Number of requests sent to the controller _internal:mgmtRequests
Number of management requests per Minute measurement Number of requests sent to the controller _internal:mgmtRequests
Time used for management requests measurement Total time for requests _internal:requestTime
Time used for management requests per Minute measurement Total time for requests _internal:requestTime
Maximum request time measurement Max time for a request since last metric get _internal:maxTime
Server State trait Detailed server state server-state
Server Code Name trait Server Code Name _skm:release-codename
Server Version trait Server Version _skm:release-version
Product Name trait Product Name _skm:product-name
Product Version trait Product Version _skm:product-version
Server Start Time trait Server Start Time startTime
JGroups Multicast Address trait the host and port used by JGroups for multicast multicastAddress
Server Config File trait The name of the server configuration file this server is using config-file

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Traits in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Configuration Properties

Table 3.249. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Properties no *2
Path The standard paths provided by the system include: jboss.home - the root directory of the JBoss AS distribution; user.home - user's home directory; user.dir - user's current working directory; java.home - java installation directory; jboss.server.base.dir - root directory for an individual server instance; jboss.server.data.dir - directory the server will use for persistent data file storage; jboss.server.log.dir - directory the server will use for log file storage; jboss.server.tmp.dir - directory the server will use for temporary file storage; jboss.domain.servers.dir - directory under which a host controller will create the working area for individual server instances no *3
Installed extensions no *1
Base Dir The base directory for JBoss Application Server. yes base-dir
Config Dir The directory where the configurations are stored. yes config-dir
Config File The configuration file used to launch JBoss Application Server. yes config-file
Content Dir The directory where user content (e.g. deployments) that is managed by the server is stored. yes content-dir
Data Dir The data directory. yes data-dir
Deploy Dir Deprecated variant of 'content-dir'. yes deploy-dir
Ext Dirs A list of ext directories. yes ext-dirs
Home Dir The home directory for JBoss Application Server. yes home-dir
Host Name The host name. yes host-name
Initial Running Mode The current running mode of the server. Either LIVE (normal operations) or ADMIN_ONLY. An ADMIN_ONLY server will start any configured management interfaces and accept management requests, but will not start services used for handling end user requests. yes initial-running-mode
Launch Type The type of the running server. yes launch-type
Log Dir The directory where log files are sent. yes log-dir
Modules Dir The directory where modules are found. yes modules-dir
Node Name The name of the server node. yes node-name
Qualified Host Name The qualified host name. yes qualified-host-name
Server Name The name of the server. yes server-name
Temp Dir The temporary directory. yes temp-dir

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Operations

Table 3.250. Metrics

Name Description
Reload Make the server re-load the (changed) configuration. To load a different startup config use 'restart'
Start Start the server by invoking its start script
Restart Restart the server by shutting it down and invoking its start script
Shutdown Shut down the server.
Install RHQ user Installs a user in the server for management

Package Types

none

3.3.1. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - ModCluster Standalone Service

Overview

Table 3.251. Overview

Description: Mod_cluster support
Singleton: yes
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types

Connection Properties

Table 3.252. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.

Metrics

none

Configuration Properties

none

Operations

Table 3.253. Metrics

Name Description
Add Proxy Add the proxy to the list of httpd connected to the node.
List Proxies Read the list of httpd connected to the node.
Read Proxies Configuration Send a DUMP to httpd and display the result.
Read Proxies Info Send a INFO to httpd and display the result.
Refresh Refresh the node sending a new CONFIG message to Apache httpd.
Remove Proxy Remove the proxy to the list of httpd connected to the node.
Reset Reset the node connection to Apache httpd.

Package Types

none

3.3.1.1. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Service Configuration Service

Overview

Table 3.254. Overview

Description:
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types
Connection Properties

Table 3.255. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Metrics
none
Configuration Properties

Table 3.256. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Proxy List List of proxies, Format (hostname:port) separated with commas. no proxy-list
Proxy Url Base URL for MCMP requests. no proxy-url
Advertise Socket Name of Socket binding to use for the Advertise socket. no advertise-socket
Advertise Use Advertise logic or not. no advertise
Advertise Security Key String containing the security key for the Advertise logic. no advertise-security-key
Balancer The balancer name. no balancer
Connector Name of the web connector used to communicate with the load balancer. yes connector
Domain loadBalancingGroup name. no domain
Excluded Contexts List of contexts mod_cluster should ignore, Format String separated with commas. no excluded-contexts
Auto Enable Contexts Enable contexts even if disabled in mod_cluster_manger (httpd). no auto-enable-contexts
Sticky Session Use sticky sessions for requests. no sticky-session
Sticky Session Remove Remove session information on failover. no sticky-session-remove
Sticky Session Force Don't failover a request with session information. no sticky-session-force
Worker Timeout Timeout to wait in httpd for an available worker to process the requests. no worker-timeout
Max Attempts Max attempts to process an idempotent request. no max-attempts
Flush Packets Enables/disables packet flushing in httpd. no flush-packets
Flush Wait Time to wait before flushing packets in httpd. no flush-wait
Ping Time (in seconds) in which to wait for a pong answer to a ping. no ping
Smax Soft maximum idle connection count in httpd no smax
Ttl Time to live (in seconds) for idle connections above smax no ttl
Node Timeout Timeout (in seconds) for proxy connections to a node. no node-timeout
Stop Context Timeout Max time to wait for context to process pending requests. no stop-context-timeout
Socket Timeout Timeout to wait for httpd to answer a MCMP message. no socket-timeout

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Operations

Table 3.257. Metrics

Name Description
Add Custom Metric Add new custom metric to the load balancer provider.
Add Metric Add new metric to the load balancer provider.
Remove Custom Metric Remove a custom metric from the load balancer provider.
Remove Metric Add new metric to the load balancer provider.

Package Types
none
3.3.1.1.1. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Dynamic Load Provider Service
Overview

Table 3.258. Overview

Description:
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types
Connection Properties

Table 3.259. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Metrics
none
Configuration Properties

Table 3.260. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Decay Decay. The default value is 2. no decay
History History. The default value is 9. no history

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Operations
none
Package Types
none
3.3.1.1.1.1. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Custom Load Metric Service
Overview

Table 3.261. Overview

Description:
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types
none
Connection Properties

Table 3.262. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Metrics
none
Configuration Properties

Table 3.263. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Capacity Capacity of the metric. The default value is 1 no capacity
Class Class name of the custom metric. yes class
Weight Weight of the metric. The default value is 1. no weight

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Operations
none
Package Types
none
3.3.1.1.1.2. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Load Metric Service
Overview

Table 3.264. Overview

Description:
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types
none
Connection Properties

Table 3.265. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Metrics
none
Configuration Properties

Table 3.266. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Capacity Capacity of the metric. The default value is 1. no capacity
Type Type of the metric yes type
Weight Weight of the metric. The default value is 1. no weight

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Operations
none
Package Types
none
3.3.1.1.2. JBoss AS 7 and EAP 6 - Ssl Service
Overview

Table 3.267. Overview

Description:
Singleton: no
Plugin: JBossAS7

Child Resource Types
none
Connection Properties

Table 3.268. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Path yes path

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Metrics
none
Configuration Properties

Table 3.269. 

Name Description Required Internal Name
Ca Certificate File Certificate authority. no ca-certificate-file
Ca Revocation Ur Certificate authority revocation list. no ca-revocation-ur
Certificate Key File Key file for the certificate. no certificate-key-file
Cipher Suite The allowed cipher suite. no cipher-suite
Key Alias The key alias. no key-alias
Password Password. no password
Protocol The SSL protocols that are enabled. no protocol

Note

You must use the internal name to reference Configuration Properties in Dynamic Group Definition expressions.
Operations
none
Package Types
none