Chapter 4. Post-Upgrade Tasks

4.1. Changing the Cluster Compatibility Version

Red Hat Virtualization clusters have a compatibility version. The cluster compatibility version indicates the features of Red Hat Virtualization supported by all of the hosts in the cluster. The cluster compatibility is set according to the version of the least capable host operating system in the cluster.

Important

To change the cluster compatibility version, you must have first updated all the hosts in your cluster to a level that supports your desired compatibility level. Check if there is an icon next to the host indicating an update is available. See Section 2.2, “Updating Hosts” for more information on updating hosts.
After you update the cluster compatibility version of the cluster you need to update the cluster compatibility version of all running or suspended virtual machines to ensure that the changes become effective. This is achieved by restarting the virtual machines from within the Manager or REST API call instead of within the guest operating system. Virtual machines will continue to run in the previous cluster compatibility level until they are restarted. Those virtual machines that require a restart are marked with the Next-Run icon (triangle with an exclamation mark). You cannot change the cluster compatibility version of a virtual machine snapshot that is in preview, you need to first commit or undo the preview.
The self-hosted engine virtual machine does not need to be restarted, see Maintenance and Upgrading Resources in the Self-Hosted Engine Guide for more information about upgrading the Self-Hosted Engine environment.

Procedure 4.1. Changing the Cluster Compatibility Version

  1. From the Administration Portal, click the Clusters tab.
  2. Select the cluster to change from the list displayed.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Change the Compatibility Version to the desired value.
  5. Click OK to open the Change Cluster Compatibility Version confirmation window.
  6. Click OK to confirm.

    Important

    An error message may warn that some virtual machines and templates are incorrectly configured. To fix this error, edit each virtual machine manually. The Edit Virtual Machine window provides additional validations and warnings that show what to correct. Sometimes the issue is automatically corrected and the virtual machine's configuration just needs to be saved again. After editing each virtual machine, you will be able to change the cluster compatibility version.
You have updated the compatibility version of the cluster. Once you have updated the compatibility version of all clusters in a data center, you can then change the compatibility version of the data center itself.