Red Hat Training

A Red Hat training course is available for Red Hat Virtualization

Chapter 5. Introduction to Hosts

Red Hat Virtualization supports two types of hosts: Red Hat Virtualization Host (RHVH) and Red Hat Enterprise Linux host. Depending on your environment requirement, you may want to use one type only or both in your Red Hat Virtualization environment. It is recommended that you install and attach at least two hosts to the Red Hat Virtualization environment. Where you attach only one host you will be unable to access features such as migration and high availability.


SELinux is in enforcing mode upon installation. To verify, run getenforce. SELinux is required to be in enforcing mode on all hypervisors and Managers for your Red Hat Virtualization environment to be supported by Red Hat.

Table 5.1. Hosts

Host Type Other Names Description
Red Hat Virtualization Host
RHVH, thin host
This is a minimal operating system based on Red Hat Enterprise Linux. It is distributed as an ISO file from the Customer Portal and contains only the packages required for the machine to act as a host.
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Host
RHEL-based hypervisor, thick host
Red Hat Enterprise Linux hosts subscribed to the appropriate channels can be used as hosts.

5.1. Host Compatibility

When you create a new data center, you can set the compatibility version. Select the compatibility version that suits all the hosts in the data center. Once set, version regression is not allowed. For a fresh Red Hat Virtualization installation, the latest compatibility version is set in the default data center and default cluster; to use an older compatibility version, you must create additional data centers and clusters. For more information about compatibility versions see Red Hat Virtualization Manager Compatibility in the Red Hat Virtualization Life Cycle.