Chapter 4. Managing user permissions

RHSM is only available if a you have the appropriate user permissions. By default, all users are granted this permission, but it can be changed by administrators in the User Management area.

  • Organization Administrator: This is the highest permission level with full access to content and features. This is the only role that can manage users and control their access and permissions on an account. An account may have multiple organization administrators.
  • Manage Support Cases: User can view, create, and update support cases from the Support Cases page.
  • View/Renew Subscription Information: You can view account subscription and renewal information on the account.
  • Download Software and Updates: You can download software and updates from the Red Hat Customer Portal.

Manage Your Subscriptions: You have access to subscription, utilization, and system information in Red Hat Subscription Management. There are three different levels for this permission:

  • View/Edit Users Only: You can only view or edit systems that you have registered to the account.
  • View All: You can view all systems associated with the account, but you cannot make any changes. This role is typical of someone such as a purchasing agent.
  • View/Renew Subscription Information: You can view account subscription and renewal information on the account.
  • View/Edit All: You can view and edit all systems and applications registered to the account.

4.1. Creating a new user

You may create new users in your organization to have different permissions if you are an organization administrator.

Procedure

  1. From the Customer Portal, click your name from the upper-right corner of the screen.
  2. Click User Management.
  3. Click Add New User.
  4. Enter their contact and login information. At the bottom of the screen, select the aforementioned Customer Portal access permissions, as well as the Organization Administrator account role if applicable.
  5. Click Save.

4.2. Changing user permissions

If the permissions a pre-existing user has need to be updated or are no longer appropriate, you can update them at any time.

Procedure.

  1. From the Customer Portal, click your name from the upper-right corner of the screen.
  2. Click User Management.
  3. Select the user, and click Edit.
  4. Click Access Permissions.
  5. Make the appropriate changes to the permissions and account role, and click Save.