Chapter 3. Certification lifecycle

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux software certification covers a range of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 minor versions and RHEL application minor versions on a single architecture and is expected to be maintained once certified to ensure the continued success of our joint customers.

3.1. Red Hat Certification test suite life cycle and policy update

Red Hat supports previous versions of the Red Hat Certification test suite and workflow for a maximum period of 90 days from the release date of the current version.

At the end of the 90 days period, test logs and results generated using the previous versions are automatically rejected and partners are expected to regenerate the test logs and results using the latest tooling and workflow.

The latest version of the certification tooling and workflow is available via the Red Hat Software Download Center.

3.2. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 versions

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 software certification is granted on a specific RHEL 8 minor version and is valid for each subsequent minor release of RHEL 8 when the compatibility guidelines are followed.

The compatibility guidelines are documented in the Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8: Application Compatibility Guide. Red Hat recommends Partners to retest their application with each new minor versions of RHEL 8.

Additional resources

3.3. Vendor’s product versions

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 software certification is awarded for a given major release of the application. Minor releases of the software are expected to be retested for any regressions that would negatively impact the certification but are not required to be re-certified.

Partners are encouraged to provide customers a matrix of supported and tested application minor releases to RHEL 8 minor releases for clarity.

A new certification is required for major versions of the application. Partners are expected to recertify new major versions of their application either as a new version of the existing product or as a new product entry. It is the partner’s responsibility to decide which releases of their product are major versus which releases are minor.

3.4. Architecture

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 software certification is architecture specific and does not carry over to any other architecture. Partners are required to certify on each architecture of RHEL 8 that their application supports.

3.4.1. Supported RHEL version and architecture

The software certifications are supported on the following RHEL version and architecture.

RHEL versionArchitectureHypervisor


  • x86_64
  • KVM
  • VMWare
  • HyperV
  • RHEV
  • ppc64le
  • s390x
  • aarch64

3.5. Catalog entries

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 software certification is expected to remain listed in the catalog until the end of Red Hat service and support for RHEL 8. However, Red Hat reserves the right to remove a catalog entry.