Red Hat Service Interconnect 1.4

Key features and supported configurations


This guide introduces Red Hat Service Interconnect and describes a service network.
Red Hat Service Interconnect is a Red Hat build of the open source Skupper project.

Chapter 1. Key features

Red Hat Service Interconnect is a Red Hat build of the open source Skupper project. Skupper introduces a service network, linking services across the hybrid cloud.

A service network enables communication between services running in different network locations. It allows geographically distributed services to connect as if they were all running in the same site.

Overview of a service network

The following are key features of Skupper:

  • Private to public site connectivity: You expose only specific services and ports to a remote site.
  • Minimal effort: A few skupper CLI commands to expose services from one site to another.
  • Security: mTLS for all cross site communication.
  • Load balancing and failover of services.

Chapter 2. Supported standards and protocols

Red Hat Service Interconnect supports the following TLS versions for site links:

  • TLS 1.2
  • TLS 1.3

Chapter 3. Supported configurations

You can create sites on OpenShift Container Platform versions 3.11, 4.10, 4.11 and 4.12. Commercially reasonable support is provided for any CNCF Certified Kubernetes cluster

The skupper CLI is supported on:

  • RHEL 8 and 9

Gateways are supported on:

  • RHEL 8 and 9

Ingress types:

  • LoadBalancer
  • OpenShift Routes

If you have applications that require long lived connections, for example Kafka clients, consider using a load balancer as ingress instead of a proxy ingress such as OpenShift route. If you use an OpenShift route as ingress, expect interruptions whenever routes are configured.

For more information, see Red Hat Service Interconnect Supported Configurations.

Chapter 4. Resources

The following resources are available:

Appendix A. About Service Interconnect documentation

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. We are beginning with these four terms: master, slave, blacklist, and whitelist. Because of the enormity of this endeavor, these changes will be implemented gradually over several upcoming releases. For more details, see our CTO Chris Wright’s message.

Revised on 2023-11-15 15:17:54 UTC

Legal Notice

Copyright © 2023 Red Hat, Inc.
The text of and illustrations in this document are licensed by Red Hat under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported license ("CC-BY-SA"). An explanation of CC-BY-SA is available at In accordance with CC-BY-SA, if you distribute this document or an adaptation of it, you must provide the URL for the original version.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, the Red Hat logo, JBoss, OpenShift, Fedora, the Infinity logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project.
The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.