3.2. Locations

Locations divide organizations into logical groups based on geographical location. Each location is created and used by a single Red Hat customer account, although each account can manage multiple locations and organizations.
The Red Hat Satellite installation process creates a location called Default Location unless another name is specified. If a new user is not assigned a default location their access will be limited. To grant system rights to users, assign a default location and have them log out and log in again.

Important

You cannot delete the default location, but you can rename it to suit your needs. Satellite returns an error message if you try to delete the default location using either the web UI or the command line.

3.2.1. Creating a Location

These steps show how to create a location.

Procedure 3.7. To Create a Location:

  1. Navigate to AdministerLocations.
  2. Click New Location.
  3. Insert the name of the new location in the Name field. If you want to create a nested location, select a Parent location from the drop-down menu. Optionally, specify a Description of the location. Click Submit.
  4. Select the hosts to assign to the new location.
    • Click Assign All to assign all hosts with no location to the new location.
    • Click Manually Assign to manually select and assign the hosts with no location.
    • Click Proceed to Edit to skip assigning hosts.
  5. Specify the configuration details of the location such as Capsule Servers, subnets or compute resources. You can modify these settings later as described in Section 3.2.2, “Editing a Location”.
  6. Click Submit.

3.2.2. Editing a Location

Procedure 3.8. To Edit a Location:

  1. Navigate to AdministerLocations.
  2. Click the name of the location to be edited.
  3. Select the resource to edit from the list on the left.
  4. Click the name of the desired items to add them to the Selected Items list.
  5. Click Submit.

3.2.3. Removing a Location

These steps show how to remove an existing location. Deleting the default location created during installation is currently not supported.

Procedure 3.9. To Remove a Location:

  1. Navigate to AdministerLocations.
  2. Select Delete from the drop-down menu to the right of the name of the location you want to remove.
    An alert box appears:
    Delete Location?
  3. Click OK.