Chapter 1. Managing User Accounts

1.1. Creating and Deleting User Accounts

The Users page on the Red Hat  Satellite web server provides suitable tools to manage Satellite users. You can use this page to create, delete, activate, and deactivate user accounts, as well as assign roles and their associated permissions.
Creating User Accounts

Before Satellite users can register with the Satellite server to request product updates or to perform other maintenance, they need a suitable user account. Only certain Satellite Administrators can create user accounts.

Procedure 1.1. Creating User Accounts

To create a user account:
  1. Navigate to the Satellite web server page, and click the Users tab on the navigation bar.
  2. On the right side of the page, click create new user to open the Create User page.
  3. Complete all of the required fields.

    Note

    The login value must be at least five characters long, and may only contain alphanumeric, hyphen, underscore, comma, period, and commercial at (@) characters.
  4. Click Create Login to create the new user. An email will be sent to the user, using the address specified during creation, to inform them of the new account details. This will include the password in plain text.
  5. When the account has been successfully created, you will be redirected to the User List page. To change permissions and set options for the new user, select their name from the displayed list to display the User Details page, and navigate to the appropriate tabs to make your changes.
Deleting User Accounts

Only Satellite Administrators can delete user accounts. Deleted accounts cannot be used to log in to the Satellite server interface, or to schedule actions.

Warning

You cannot retrieve deleted user accounts. Consider deactivating the user account before deleting it, in order to assess the consequences.

Procedure 1.2. Deleting User Accounts

To delete a user account:
  1. Navigate to the Satellite web server page, and click the Users tab on the navigation bar.
  2. Click the user name of the account that you want to delete from the Username list. The User Details page displays.
  3. Ensure that the user account is not a Satellite administrator.
    If the user is a Satellite administrator, clear the associated check box, and click Submit.
    If the user is not a Satellite administrator, continue to the next step.
  4. Click Delete User. The Confirm User Deletion page displays.
  5. Ensure that you want to completely delete this user account, and click Delete User.
After the user account has been successfully deleted, you will be returned to the Active Users page. The user's name will no longer appear in the Active Users list.

Procedure 1.3. Activating and Deactivating Users

User accounts are automatically activated when they are created. They can be deactivated by administrators, or users can deactivate their own accounts. Deactivated user accounts cannot log in to the Satellite server interface, or schedule any actions. Any actions that were scheduled before the account was deactivated remain in the action queue until they are completed. Deactivated user accounts can only be reactivated by administrators.

Note

Administrator accounts can only be deactivated after the Administrator role has been removed from the account.
To deactivate a user account:
  1. Select the user's name from the list in the Users tab, to display the User Details page.
  2. Check to see if the user is a Satellite administrator.
    If the user is a Satellite administrator, uncheck the box next to that role, and click Submit.
    If the user is not a Satellite administrator, continue to the next step.
  3. Click Deactivate User.
    You will be asked to confirm this action, by clicking it again. Check the details, and then click Deactivate User again to confirm.
  4. Once the account has been successfully deactivated, the user's name will not appear in the Active Users list. Click the Deactivated link from the User List menu to view deactivated user accounts.
  5. To reactivate the user account, view the Deactivated list, check the box next to the user to be reactivate, and click Reactivate.