Menu Close
Settings Close

Language and Page Formatting Options

Red Hat Training

A Red Hat training course is available for Red Hat Process Automation Manager

Chapter 1. User and group management

Business Central defines three types of entities for security management - users, groups, and roles. Permissions can be assigned to both roles and groups. Business Central provides the following roles:

  • process-admin
  • manager
  • admin
  • analyst
  • developer
  • user
Note

If a role’s identifier is present in the application’s Role Registry only then it is considered a role otherwise its a group.

You can use Business Central to create and manage as many users and groups as you require. A user must be assigned at least one user-specific role to login to Business Central. User privileges depends on permissions from the groups and roles the user is a member of. Note that role or group priority is taken into account in case a user has several roles or groups assigned to it.

1.1. Creating users

You can create as many Business Central users as you require. User privileges and settings are controlled by the roles assigned to a user and the groups that a user belongs to.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Business Central and click AdminUsers.
  2. Click New user, enter a user name, and then click Next.
  3. If desired, click the Groups tab, click Add to groups, and then select the groups that you want this user to belong to. Then click Add to selected groups.
  4. Click the Roles tab, click Add roles, and then select the roles that you want to give this user. Then click Add to selected roles.
  5. Click Create.
  6. Click Yes to set a password for the user and click Change.
Note

The user must have at least one role to access Business Central.

1.2. Editing users

You can edit the users of Business Central according to your needs. From the Users option in Settings, you can change the group and role of a user. All user permissions are based on the group and role permissions of the user. You can view the user permissions from the Permissions tab.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Business Central.
  2. Select AdminUsers.
  3. From All users, click the user you want to edit. All user details are displayed in the right pane.
  4. Click Edit.

    • Complete the following steps to add groups to users:

      1. From Groups, click Add to groups. The Group selection for user window opens.
      2. Select or deselect the groups you want the user to be a part of.
      3. Click Add to selected groups.
    • Complete the following steps to add roles to users:

      1. From Roles tab, click Add roles. The Role selection for user window opens.
      2. Select or deselect the roles you want to assign to the user.
      3. Click Add to selected roles.
    • Complete the following step to view user permissions:

      1. Click the Permissions tab and expand the attributes to view user permissions.
    • Complete the following steps to change the user’s password,

      1. Click Change Password. The Change password for user window opens.
      2. Enter and confirm the new password and click Change.
    • Complete the following steps to delete the user,

      1. Click Delete and then click Yes to remove the user.
  5. Click Save to apply the changes.

1.3. Creating groups

In Business Central, groups allow you to control permissions for a collection of users. You can create as many groups as you want but a group must have at least one user.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Business Central.
  2. Select AdminGroups.
  3. Click New group, enter a group name, and then click Next.
  4. Select the users that you want to belong to this group, and then click Add selected users.

    The newly created group is listed under All groups.

1.4. Editing groups

You can edit a group’s attributes such as home page, priority, and permissions according to your requirements. From the Groups option in Settings, you can modify or delete a group.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Business Central.
  2. Select AdminGroups.
  3. From All groups, click the group you want to edit. All user details are displayed in the right pane.
  4. Select the home page from the Home Page list.
  5. Select the priority from the Priority list.
  6. In the Permissions section, expand the resource attribute and change its permission.

    Note

    You can add exceptions to Pages, Editor, Spaces, and Projects permissions.

  7. Click Save to apply the changes.

    Note

    Use Delete to remove a group from Business Central.