Chapter 25. User and group management

Business Central defines three types of entities for security management: users, groups, and roles. You can assign permissions to both roles and groups. You can assign the following roles in Business Central:

  • process-admin
  • manager
  • admin
  • analyst
  • developer
  • user
Note

User roles in the application Role Registry have a role identifier, whereas user groups do not.

Use Business Central to create and manage as many users and groups as you require. A user must be assigned to at least one user-specific role to log in to Business Central. User privileges depend on permissions from the groups and roles that the user is a member of. Note that the role or group priority is considered if a user has several roles or groups assigned to it.

25.1. Creating users

User privileges and settings are controlled by the roles assigned to a user and the groups that a user belongs to. You can create any number of users in Business Central.

Note

Do not create a user called unknown in process engine or KIE Server. The unknown user account is a reserved system name with superuser access. The unknown user account performs tasks related to the SLA violation listener when there are no users logged in.

Procedure

  1. In Business Central, select the Admin icon in the top-right corner of the screen and select Users.
  2. Click New user, enter a user name, and then click Next.
  3. To assign roles to the user, click the Roles tab, click Add Roles, select the desired roles, and click Add to selected roles.
  4. Optional: To assign groups to the user, click the Groups tab, click Add to groups, select the desired groups, and click Add to selected groups.
  5. Click Create.
  6. Click Yes to set a password for the user, enter a desired password, and click Change.
Note

The user must have at least one role to access Business Central.

25.2. Editing users

You can change the group and role of a user using the Users option on the Business Central Settings page. All user permissions are based on the group and role permissions of the user. You can view the user permissions from the Permissions tab.

Procedure

  1. In Business Central, select the Admin icon in the top-right corner of the screen and select Users.
  2. From the All users list, click the user you want to edit. The user details display in the right pane.
  3. Click Edit to perform any of the following tasks:

    • To change the groups of a user, click the Groups tab, click Add to groups, select the groups you want the user to be part of, click Add to selected groups, and click Save.
    • To change the roles of a user, click the Roles tab, click Add roles, select the roles you want to assign to the user, click Add to selected roles, and click Save.
    • To view the user permissions, click the Permissions tab and expand the attributes.
    • To change the password, click Change Password, enter the new password, and click Change.
    • To delete the user, click Delete and then click Yes to confirm removal.

25.3. Creating groups

In Business Central, you can use groups to control permissions for a collection of users. You can create as many groups as you want but a group must have at least one user.

Procedure

  1. In Business Central, select the Admin icon in the top-right corner of the screen and select Groups.
  2. Click New group, enter a group name, and then click Next.
  3. Select the users that you want to add to this group, and then click Add selected users.

    The newly created group is listed under All groups.

25.4. Editing groups

You can edit the attribute of a group such as home page, priority, and permissions according to your requirements. From the Groups option on the Business Central Settings page, you can modify or delete a group.

Procedure

  1. In Business Central, select the Admin icon in the top-right corner of the screen and select Groups.
  2. From the All groups list, click the group that you want to edit. The user details display in the right pane.
  3. Select the home page from the Home Page list.
  4. Select the priority from the Priority list.
  5. In the Permissions section, expand the resource attribute and change its permission.

    Note

    You can add exceptions to Pages, Editor, Spaces, and Projects permissions.

  6. Click Save to apply the changes.