Red Hat Training

A Red Hat training course is available for Red Hat OpenStack Platform

Chapter 1. User Management

1.1. User Management

As a cloud administrator, you can add, modify, and delete users in the dashboard. Users can be members of one or more projects. You can manage projects and users independently from each other.

1.1.1. Create a User

Use this procedure to create users in the dashboard. You can assign a primary project and role to the user. Note that users created in the dashboard are Keystone users by default. To integrate Active Directory users, you can configure the LDAP provider included in the Red Hat OpenStack Platform Identity service.

  1. As an admin user in the dashboard, select Identity > Users.
  2. Click Create User.
  3. Enter a user name, email, and preliminary password for the user.
  4. Select a project from the Primary Project list.
  5. Select a role for the user from the Role list (the default role is _member_).
  6. Click Create User.

1.1.2. Edit a User

Use this procedure to update the user’s details, including the primary project.

  1. As an admin user in the dashboard, select Identity > Users.
  2. In the User’s Actions column, click Edit.
  3. In the Update User window, you can update the User Name, Email, and Primary Project.
  4. Click Update User.

1.1.3. Enable or Disable a User

Use this procedure to enable or disable a user. You can disable or enable only one user at a time. A disabled user cannot log in to the dashboard, and does not have access to any OpenStack services. Also, a disabled user’s primary project cannot be set as active. A disabled user can be enabled again, unlike deleting a user where the action cannot be reversed. A disabled user must be re-enabled for any user-project action in the dashboard.

  1. As an admin user in the dashboard, select Identity > Users.
  2. In the Actions column, click the arrow, and select Enable User or Disable User. In the Enabled column, the value then updates to either True or False.

1.1.4. Delete a User

As an admin user, use this procedure to delete a user using the dashboard. This action cannot be reversed, unlike disabling a user. Deleted users get delisted from a project’s members' list for projects it belongs to. All roles associated with the user-project pair are also lost.

  1. As an admin user in the dashboard, select Identity > Users.
  2. Select the users you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete Users. The Confirm Delete Users window is displayed.
  4. Click Delete Users to confirm the action.