Chapter 1. Introduction

1.1. About Red Hat JBoss Web Server

Red Hat JBoss Web Server is a fully integrated and certified set of components for hosting Java web applications. It consists of a web server (Apache HTTP Server), an application server (Apache Tomcat Servlet container), load balancers (mod_jk and mod_cluster), and the Tomcat Native Library.

This Installation Guide includes procedures for the installation, minor upgrade, and basic configuration of the Tomcat servers from JBoss Web Server on supported operating systems. Installation and configuration instructions for the Apache HTTP Server are covered in the JBoss Core Services Documentation.

1.2. Components

JBoss Web Server consists of the following components:

  • Apache Tomcat is a servlet container in accordance with Java Servlet Specification. JBoss Web Server contains Apache Tomcat 7 and Apache Tomcat 8.
  • Apache Tomcat Native Library is a Tomcat library, which improves Tomcat scalability, performance, and integration with native server technologies.
  • Apache Tomcat Connectors (mod_jk, mod_cluster) are connectors between Apache HTTP Server and Apache Tomcat. Note that the default is mod_cluster, as it is the JBoss native load balancer and is more efficient, reliable, and scalable than mod_jk. As of JBoss Web Server 3.1, the mod_jk and mod_cluster connectors are provided as part of JBoss Core Services. For more information on installation and configuration of these two modules, see the HTTP Connectors and Load Balancing Guide.
  • Apache HTTP Server is an open source web server developed by the Apache Software Foundation. The implementation follows the current HTTP standards. As of JBoss Web Server 3.1, the Apache HTTP Server is provided as part of JBoss Core Services. For more information on installation and configuration of the http server, see JBoss Core Services Documentation.
  • Hibernate is an object-relational mapping framework. Hibernate included in JBoss Web Server contains Hibernate Core, Hibernate Annotations, and Hibernate EntityManager with JPA 1.0 APIs.

For a detailed list of component versions included in JBoss Web Server 3.1, see


Tomcat clustering has been removed from JBoss Web Server 3.1. If you need clustering or session replication support for Java applications, Red Hat recommends that you use Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform (JBoss EAP).

1.3. Supported Operating Systems and Configurations

For information on supported operating systems and configurations for JBoss Web Server, see

1.4. Installation Methods

JBoss Web Server can be installed on supported Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Microsoft Windows, and Solaris systems using ZIP installation files available for each platform. JBoss Web Server can also be installed on supported Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems using RPM packages.

For ZIP installations, below is a summary of the components that are included in the ZIP file which form the core part of a JBoss Web Server installation.

  • jws-application-servers-3.1.0-<platform>-<architecture>.zip

    • Tomcat 7
    • Tomcat 8
    • Platform-specific utilities

1.5. Upgrading JBoss Web Server

Upgrading JBoss Web Server is not supported. To upgrade to JBoss Web Server 3.1 from an older version, a fresh installation is recommended.


If the RPM method was used to install JBoss Web Server 1.x or 2.x, it is not possible to remove JBoss Web Server 1.x or 2.x and install JBoss Web Server 3.1 on the same machine. Many configuration files from the old packages will be left on the system, and will create compatibility issues with the newer RPM packages. For the same reason, manually removing the old RPMs and installing the new ones is also not supported.

On a system where JBoss Web Server 1.x or 2.x was installed using the ZIP method, it is possible to remove the old version and install JBoss Web Server 3.1 on the same system.

1.6. Component Documentation Bundle

JBoss Web Server includes an additional documentation bundle that includes the original vendor documentation for each component. This documentation bundle,, is available at the Red Hat Customer Portal, and contains additional documentation for the following:

  • mod_cluster
  • openssl
  • tomcat7
  • tomcat8
  • tomcat-native