Chapter 4. Rollback

The Convert2RHEL utility provides a limited rollback functionality. If the conversion is cancelled by the user or if it fails, the utility performs a rollback of changes made during the conversion process under the following conditions:

  • Only changes performed until Convert2RHEL starts replacing packages from the original distribution with RHEL packages can be reverted. This moment is indicated by the warning message:

    The tool allows rollback of any action until this point.
    By continuing all further changes on the system will need to be reverted manually by the user, if necessary.

    followed by a question whether you wish to continue with the process.

    Note

    If the -y option is used with the convert2RHEL command, the question indicating the moment after which the automated rollback is no longer possible is skipped.

  • Access to repositories providing packages from the original distribution is required, especially to the base repository, to perform a rollback. Without access to these repositories, Convert2RHEL is unable to restore the system to the original state even if the tool execution is stopped in the early stages of the conversion because Convert2RHEL removes certain packages during the conversion process and needs to preemptively download them from the original repository for rollback.
  • A rollback is feasible only on a system where all packages from the original OS are updated to the latest version that is available in the repositories accessible from the system. Therefore use the yum update command before starting the conversion process.
Warning

If the conversion process is cancelled or fails after Convert2RHEL has started the package replacement phase, the system can become dysfunctional. In such a case, manual fixes will be needed. Please contact Red Hat Consulting services for assistance.