18.104.22.168. Removing Storage
Removing disk space from a system is straightforward, with most of the steps being similar to the installation sequence (except, of course, in reverse):
- Move any data to be saved off the disk drive
- Modify the backup schedule so that the disk drive is no longer backed up
- Update the system configuration
- Erase the contents of the disk drive
- Remove the disk drive
As you can see, compared to the installation process, there are a few extra steps to take. These steps are discussed in the following sections.
22.214.171.124.1. Moving Data Off the Disk Drive
Should there be any data on the disk drive that must be saved, the first thing to do is to determine where the data should go. This decision depends mainly on what is going to be done with the data. For example, if the data is no longer going to be actively used, it should be archived, probably in the same manner as your system backups. This means that now is the time to consider appropriate retention periods for this final backup.
Keep in mind that, in addition to any data retention guidelines your organization may have, there may also be legal requirements for retaining data for a certain length of time. Therefore, make sure you consult with the department that had been responsible for the data while it was still in use; they should know the appropriate retention period.
On the other hand, if the data is still being used, then the data should reside on the system most appropriate for that usage. Of course, if this is the case, perhaps it would be easiest to move the data by reinstalling the disk drive on the new system. If you do this, you should make a full backup of the data before doing so -- people have dropped disk drives full of valuable data (losing everything) while doing nothing more hazardous than walking across a data center.