5.4.2.4. Removing the Old Physical Volume from the Volume Group

After you have moved the data off /dev/sdb1, you can remove it from the volume group.
[root@tng3-1 ~]# vgreduce myvg /dev/sdb1
  Removed "/dev/sdb1" from volume group "myvg"
You can now reallocate the disk to another volume group or remove the disk from the system.