15.13. Removing the Changelog

The changelog is a record of all modifications on a given replica that the supplier uses to replay these modifications to replicas on consumer servers (or suppliers in the case of multi-master replication).
If a supplier server goes offline, it is important to be able to delete the changelog because it no longer holds a true record of all modifications and, as a result, should not be used as a basis for replication. A changelog can be effectively deleted by deleting the log file.

15.13.1. Removing the Changelog using the Command Line

To remove the changelog from the supplier server:
  1. Verify whether replication is disabled for all suffixes:
    # dsconf -D "cn=Directory Manager" ldap://supplier.example.com replication list
    There are no replicated suffixes
  2. Remove the changelog:
    # dsconf -D "cn=Directory Manager" ldap://supplier.example.com replication delete-changelog

15.13.2. Removing the Changelog using the Web Console

To remove the changelog from the supplier server:
  1. Open the Directory Server user interface in the web console. See Section 1.4, “Logging Into Directory Server Using the Web Console”.
  2. Select the instance.
  3. Open the Replication menu, and select the Replication Changelog entry.
  4. Click Delete Changelog.