15.8. Disabling and Re-enabling Replication

By default, replication is enabled when you create a replication agreement. In certain situations, for example, when taking down a server for maintenance, administrators want to temporarily disable replication.

Important

If you disable the replication entry using the dsconf replication disable command, Directory Server automatically deletes the replication agreement as well. In this case, to re-enable replication, you must recreate the replication agreement.
To temporarily disable a replication agreement:
# dsconf -D "cn=Directory Manager" ldap://server.example.com repl-agmt disable --suffix="dc=example,dc=com" agreement_name
To re-enable an replication agreement:
# dsconf -D "cn=Directory Manager" ldap://server.example.com repl-agmt enable --suffix="dc=example,dc=com" agreement_name