Menu Close
Settings Close

Language and Page Formatting Options

10.2. Encryption Ciphers

The encryption cipher is configurable on a per-attribute basis and must be selected by the administrator at the time encryption is enabled for an attribute.
The following ciphers are supported:
  • Advanced Encryption Standard (AES)
  • Triple Data Encryption Standard (3DES)


For strong encryption, Red Hat recommends using only AES ciphers.
All ciphers are used in Cipher Block Chaining mode.
Once the encryption cipher is set, it should not be changed without exporting and reimporting the data.