15.14. Removing the Changelog

The changelog is a record of all modifications on a given replica that the supplier uses to replay these modifications to replicas on consumer servers (or suppliers in the case of multi-master replication).
If a supplier server goes offline, it is important to be able to delete the changelog because it no longer holds a true record of all modifications and, as a result, should not be used as a basis for replication. A changelog can be effectively deleted by deleting the log file.

15.14.1. Removing the Changelog using the Command Line

To remove the changelog from the supplier server:
# ldapmodify -D "cn=Directory Manager" -W -p 389 -h server.example.com -x

dn: cn=changelog5,cn=config
changetype: delete
Directory Server automatically removes the content in the changelog directory after you removed the cn=changelog5,cn=config entry.

15.14.2. Removing the Changelog using the Console

To remove the changelog from the supplier server:
  1. In the Directory Server Console, select the Configuration tab.
  2. Select the Replication folder in the left navigation tree and then the Supplier Server Settings tab in the right pane.
  3. Clear the Enable Changelog check box.
  4. Click Save.
  5. Reinitialize the consumers. See Section 15.17, “Initializing Consumers”.