Chapter 3. Security management

You can perform security and permission management tasks from the Security page. To access the Security page, click Roles, Groups, or Users on the Settings page. Depending on which icon you click, the Security page opens on the respective tab. Use roles and groups to manage privileges and settings for users. Any changes apply to all users with the affected role or group.

3.1. Creating users

You can create as many Decision Central users as you require. User privileges and settings are controlled by the roles assigned to a user and the groups that a user belongs to.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Decision Central and click AdminUsers.
  2. Click New user, enter a user name, and then click Next.
  3. If desired, click the Groups tab, click Add to groups, and then select the groups that you want this user to belong to. Then click Add to selected groups.
  4. Click the Roles tab, click Add roles, and then select the roles that you want to give this user. Then click Add to selected roles.
  5. Click Create.
  6. Click Yes to set a password for the user and click Change.
Note

The user must have at least one role to access Decision Central.

3.2. Creating groups

Groups enable you to control privileges and settings for a collection of users. You can create as many groups as you require.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Decision Central and click AdminGroups.
  2. Click New group, enter a group name, and then click Next.
  3. Select the users that you want to belong to this group, and then click Add selected users.

3.3. Changing permissions for groups and roles

You cannot change permissions for an individual user. However, you can change permissions for groups and roles. The changed permissions apply to users that have the role or belong to the group that you changed.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Decision Central and click AdminRoles or Groups.
  2. Select a role or group. A settings and permissions screen appears.
  3. In the Settings section, set the Home Page & Priority of the role or group.
  4. In the Permissions section, you can change workbench, page, editor, space, and project permissions. Expand the resource type whose permissions you want to change.

    The list of current permissions appears.

  5. Make the desired changes.
  6. Click Add Exception to add an item not listed, and then set the permissions as required.

    Note

    You cannot add an exception to the Workbench resource type.

  7. Click Save.
Note

Any changes you make to roles or groups affect all of the users associated with that role or group.

3.4. Changing the home page

The home page is the page that appears after you log on to Decision Central. By default, the home page is set to Home. You can change the home page for roles and groups.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Decision Central and click AdminRoles or Groups.
  2. Select a role or group.
  3. Select a page from the Home Page list.
  4. Click Save.

    Note

    The role or group must have read access to a page before you can make it the home page.

3.5. Setting priorities

A user can have multiple roles and belong to multiple groups. The Priority setting determines the order of precedence of a role or group.

Procedure

  1. Log in to Decision Central and click AdminRoles or Groups.
  2. Select a role or group.
  3. Select a priority from the Priority menu, and then click Save.
Note

If a user has a role or belongs to a group that has conflicting settings, the settings of the role or group with the highest priority applies.