Menu Close

Supported Configurations and Components

Red Hat CodeReady Studio 12.19

Supported configurations and components for Red Hat CodeReady Studio

Eva-Lotte Gebhardt

Levi Valeeva

Red Hat Developer Group Documentation Team


This document contains information about supported configurations for Red Hat CodeReady Studio and details about components included in each release.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. We are beginning with these four terms: master, slave, blacklist, and whitelist. Because of the enormity of this endeavor, these changes will be implemented gradually over several upcoming releases. For more details, see our CTO Chris Wright’s message.

Chapter 1. Supported configurations and components

Every Red Hat CodeReady Studio release is tested and supported on a variety of market-leading operating systems, Java Virtual Machines (JVMs), and Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform servers and technologies.
This guide details the information about supported configurations and components for the CodeReady Studio 12.19 release.
For information related to earlier releases of CodeReady Studio, see the respective Supported Configurations and Components guides at

1.1. CodeReady Studio Components

The CodeReady Studio 12.19 release comprises the component versions of Eclipse and JBoss Tools as listed in the following table.

CodeReady Studio



2021-03 GA

JBoss Tools


1.2. Supported platforms and runtime servers

CodeReady Studio 12.19 supports the following versions of Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform:

  • 7.x, 6.x

Products built on these versions of JBoss EAP are also supported, such as Red Hat JBoss Fuse Service Works and Red Hat JBoss Portal (formerly JBoss Enterprise SOA Platform and JBoss Enterprise Portal Platform, respectively). Note that 6.x servers are no longer tested.

1.3. Supported frameworks

The frameworks that are supported by the CodeReady Studio 12.19 release are listed in the following table.

Java EE[a]

5, 6, 7, 8[b]


3.5, 3.6, 4.0, 4.3, 5.0, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3, 5.4

jQuery Mobile

1.3, 1.4

AngularJS + Ionic

AngularJS 1.4.14
Ionic 1.0

[a] Supported derivatives of Java EE are CDI, JavaServer Faces (JSF), JAX-RS and JAX-WS.
[b] Partially supported.

1.4. Supported operating systems and Java Development Kits

The operating systems, chip architectures, and Java Development Kits that are supported by the CodeReady Studio 12.19 release are listed in the following table:

Operating SystemChip ArchitectureJava Development Kit

Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8


OpenJDK 11

Microsoft Windows 8, and Microsoft Windows 10


OpenJDK 11, Oracle JDK 11

macOS Catalina (10.15) and macOS Big Sur (11.0)


Oracle JDK 11, OpenJDK 11

Fedora 32 and Fedora 33


OpenJDK 11, Oracle JDK 11

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS and Ubuntu 20.10


OpenJDK 11, Oracle JDK11


Eclipse 2021-03 GA is tested CodeReady Studio 12.19 under Java Development Kit 11. Older Jave Development Kits are not supported for running CodeReady Studio. However, older versions are supported for application development and deployment.


There are known issues when running CodeReady Studio with Java Development Kit 11. For more information, see JBDS-4751.

1.4.1. Additional resources

Legal Notice

Copyright © 2021 Red Hat, Inc.
The text of and illustrations in this document are licensed by Red Hat under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported license ("CC-BY-SA"). An explanation of CC-BY-SA is available at In accordance with CC-BY-SA, if you distribute this document or an adaptation of it, you must provide the URL for the original version.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, the Red Hat logo, JBoss, OpenShift, Fedora, the Infinity logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project.
The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.