Menu Close

Chapter 6. Prerequisites and Preparation for Installation

The Red Hat Certificate System installation process requires some preparation of the environment. This chapter describes the requirements, dependencies, and other prerequisites when installing Certificate System subsystems.

6.1. Installing Red Hat Enterprise Linux

Red Hat Certificate System requires the latest version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8. For details about installing Red Hat Enterprise Linux, see Performing a standard RHEL installation.
To enable the Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) on Red Hat Enterprise Linux, see the Red Hat Security Hardening Guide.


FIPS mode must be enabled on the RHEL host before you install Certificate System. To ensure FIPS mode is enabled:
# sysctl crypto.fips_enabled
If the returned value is 1, FIPS mode is enabled.