Release notes for Eclipse Temurin 17.0.6

Red Hat build of OpenJDK 17

Red Hat Customer Content Services


The release notes for Eclipse Temurin 17.0.6 provide an overview of new features in OpenJDK 17 and a list of potential known issues and possible workarounds.


Open Java Development Kit (OpenJDK) is a free and open-source implementation of the Java Platform, Standard Edition (Java SE). Eclipse Temurin is available in three LTS versions: OpenJDK 8u, OpenJDK 11u, and OpenJDK 17u.

Binaries for Eclipse Temurin are available for macOS, Microsoft Windows, and on multiple Linux x86 Operating Systems including Red Hat Enterprise Linux and Ubuntu.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. We are beginning with these four terms: master, slave, blacklist, and whitelist. Because of the enormity of this endeavor, these changes will be implemented gradually over several upcoming releases. For more details, see our CTO Chris Wright’s message.

Chapter 1. Support policy for Eclipse Temurin

Red Hat will support select major versions of Eclipse Temurin in its products. For consistency, these versions remain similar to Oracle JDK versions that Oracle designates as long-term support (LTS).

A major version of Eclipse Temurin will be supported for a minimum of six years from the time that version is first introduced. For more information, see the Eclipse Temurin Life Cycle and Support Policy.


RHEL 6 reached the end of life in November 2020. Because of this, Eclipse Temurin does not support RHEL 6 as a supported configuration.

Chapter 2. Eclipse Temurin features

Eclipse Temurin does not contain structural changes from the upstream distribution of OpenJDK.

For the list of changes and security fixes included in the latest OpenJDK 17 release of Eclipse Temurin, see OpenJDK 17.0.6 Released.

New features and enhancements

Review the following release notes to understand new features and feature enhancements included with the Eclipse Temurin 17.0.6 release:

Enhanced BMP bounds

By default, OpenJDK 17.0.6 disables loading a linked International Color Consortium (ICC) profile in a BMP image. You can enable this functionality by setting the new sun.imageio.bmp.enabledLinkedProfiles property to true. This property replaces the old sun.imageio.plugins.bmp.disableLinkedProfiles property

See JDK-8295687 (JDK Bug System).

Improved banking of sounds

Previously, the SoundbankReader implementation,, downloaded a JAR soundbank from a URL. For OpenJDK 17.0.6, this behavior is now disabled by default. To re-enable the behavior, set the new system property jdk.sound.jarsoundbank to true.

See JDK-8293742 (JDK Bug System).

Enhanced Datagram Transport Layer Security (DTLS) performance

OpenJDK now exchanges DTLS cookies for all new and resumed handshake communications.

To re-enable the previous release behavior, set the new system property jdk.tls.enableDtlsResumeCookie to false.

See JDK-8287411 (JDK Bug System).

Added note for LoginModule implementation

The OpenJDK 9 release changed the Set implementation, which holds principals and credentials, so that the implementation can reject null values. Any attempts to call add(null), contains(null), or remove(null) would throw a NullPointerException message.

The OpenJDK 9 release did not update the logout() method in the LoginModule implementation to check for null values. These values could occur because of a failed login attempt, which can cause a logout() call to throw a NullPointerException message.

The OpenJDK 17.0.6 release updates the LoginModule implementations to check for null values. Additionally, the release adds an implementation note to the specification that states the change also applies to third-party modules. The note advises developers of third-party modules to verify that a logout() method does not throw a NullPointerException message.

Revised on 2023-11-03 09:30:52 UTC

Legal Notice

Copyright © 2023 Red Hat, Inc.
The text of and illustrations in this document are licensed by Red Hat under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported license ("CC-BY-SA"). An explanation of CC-BY-SA is available at In accordance with CC-BY-SA, if you distribute this document or an adaptation of it, you must provide the URL for the original version.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, the Red Hat logo, JBoss, OpenShift, Fedora, the Infinity logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project.
The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.