Getting started with Eclipse Temurin

OpenJDK 17

Red Hat Customer Content Services


The Getting Started with Eclipse Temurin document provides an overview of this product and explains how to install the software and start using it.


Open Java Development Kit (OpenJDK) is a free and open-source implementation of the Java Platform, Standard Edition (Java SE). Eclipse Temurin is available in three LTS versions: OpenJDK 8u, OpenJDK 11u, and OpenJDK 17u.

Packages for Eclipse Temurin are made available on Microsoft Windows and on multiple Linux x86 Operating Systems including Red Hat Enterprise Linux and Ubuntu.

Making open source more inclusive

Red Hat is committed to replacing problematic language in our code, documentation, and web properties. We are beginning with these four terms: master, slave, blacklist, and whitelist. Because of the enormity of this endeavor, these changes will be implemented gradually over several upcoming releases. For more details, see our CTO Chris Wright’s message.

Chapter 1. Support policy for OpenJDK

Red Hat will support select major versions of OpenJDK in its products. For consistency, these versions remain similar to Oracle JDK versions that are designated as long-term support (LTS).

Red Hat supports a major version of OpenJDK for a minimum of six years from the time Red Hat first introduces OpenJDK.

OpenJDK 17 is supported on Microsoft Windows and Red Hat Enterprise Linux until November 2027.


RHEL 6 reached the end of life in November 2020. Due to this, OpenJDK is not supporting RHEL 6 as a supporting configuration..

Chapter 2. Eclipse Temurin overview

Eclipse Temurin is a free and open source implementation of the Java Platform, Standard Edition (Java SE) from the Eclipse Temurin Working Group. Eclipse Temurin is based on the upstream OpenJDK 8u, OpenJDK 11u, and OpenJDK 17u projects and includes the Shenandoah Garbage Collector from version 11 and later versions.

Eclipse Temurin does not vary structurally from the upstream distribution of OpenJDK. Eclipse Temurin shares the following similar capabilities as OpenJDK:

  • Multi-platform - Red Hat offers support of Eclipse Temurin on Microsoft Windows, RHEL and macOS, so that you can standardize on a single Java platform on numerous environments, such as desktop, data center, and hybrid cloud.
  • Frequent releases - Eclipse Temurin delivers quarterly updates of JRE and JDK for the OpenJDK 8, OpenJDK 11, and OpenJDK 17 distributions. These updates are available as RPM, MSI, archive files, and containers.
  • Long-term support (LTS) - Red Hat supports the recently released Eclipse Temurin 8, Eclipse Temurin 11, and Eclipse Temurin 17. For more information about the support lifecycle, see OpenJDK Life Cycle and Support Policy.

Chapter 3. Downloading Eclipse Temurin distributions

You can download Eclipse Temurin distribution from numerous sources, such as the Eclipse Adoptium website.

Both the Eclipse Adoptium main web page and the Eclipse Temurin web page include several download buttons for downloading different Eclipse Temurin distribution.


  1. Choose one of the following options to download an Eclipse Temurin distribution:

    1. From the Adoptium home web page or from the Eclipse Temurin project page , click one of the following buttons from the web page:

      • Latest LTS Release button that preselects OpenJDK 17 for the platform that it detects you are using and immediately begins downloading that selection.
      • Other platforms and versions button that directs to a selection of all platform and version options, where you can choose the distribution that best suits your needs from the various formats such as archives, JRE archives and installers.
      • Release archive button that directs to a selection of latest releases, older releases, and nightly beta releases. Eclipse Adoptium provides older releases and beta releases for development purposes only. Beta releases contain the most recent changes delivered into OpenJDK, which you’ll find useful for verifying fixes in development mode. Beta releases are not considered production ready and are not directly supported by Red Hat.
    2. Use the Eclipse Adoptium API, see the Swagger UI v3 documentation Eclipse Temurin.
    3. From the Eclipse Temurin Docker Hub Official Images, see the eclipse-temurin documentation (docker hub ).
    4. Use the Eclipse Temurin Marketplace and Marketplace API, by going to the AdoptiumTM Marketplace web page. This web page lists various distributions, such as the Red Hat build of OpenJDK and Eclipse Temurin distributions. Additionally, you can make a request to the Eclipse Adoptium Marketplace API v1 to serve up these distributions.
    5. For, see the relevant steps outlined in Eclipse Temurin Linux (RPM/DEB) Installer Packages (Eclipse Adoptium).

Chapter 4. Distribution selection

Eclipse Temurin produces several distributions of OpenJDK. Red Hat provides support for a subset of these distributions.

All Eclipse Temurin distributions of OpenJDK contain the JDK Flight Recorder (JFR) feature. This feature produces diagnostics and profiling data that can be consumed by other applications, such as JDK Mission Control (JMC).

To help select a distribution that is right for your needs, see Platform Coverage for Red Hat Support of Eclipse Temurin (Red Hat Customer Portal).

Revised on 2022-08-17 08:57:21 UTC

Legal Notice

Copyright © 2022 Red Hat, Inc.
The text of and illustrations in this document are licensed by Red Hat under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported license ("CC-BY-SA"). An explanation of CC-BY-SA is available at In accordance with CC-BY-SA, if you distribute this document or an adaptation of it, you must provide the URL for the original version.
Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law.
Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, the Red Hat logo, JBoss, OpenShift, Fedora, the Infinity logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries.
Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries.
Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates.
XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries.
MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries.
Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project.
The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community.
All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.